Dear Members,
"You've received a greeting postcard from a xxxxxxx"
If you have received an email with the subject line similar to the above sentence (the "xxxxxxx" could be many different words like 'neighbor', 'colleague', or 'family member') MOST LIKELY IT IS BOGUS AND COULD BE HARMFUL IF YOU TRY TO VIEW THE "POSTCARD".
To be sure, if the email contains a link to view the card that consists of "http://" followed by a series of numbers (ie: http://123.456.78.90), IT IS NOT LEGITIMATE.
Here is the notice being displayed at the *real* greeetingcards.com website:
NOTICE: Someone has been fraudulently sending emails to people using our site name. If you received an email stating you have received 'postcard from a family member', please do not open it, just delete it. The email was not sent by us and you are not on any lists with us. We are aware of the situation and are looking into it further. Telltale signs are that the address they send you to to pickup the card is a numerical address rather than greetingcards.com or birthdaycards.com.
If you receive one of these emails, PLEASE DELETE IT IMMEDIATELY.
Thank You,
Charles Partridge
Director of Operations,
Intouch Internet, Inc.